70.6 F
70.4 F
Muscle Shoals
68.6 F
70.5 F
Fort Payne

UAH cyber center awarded J. Edgar Hoover scholarship

HUNTSVILLE – The University of Alabama in Huntsville’s Center for Cybersecurity Research and Education has been awarded the FBI J. Edgar Hoover Memorial Scholarship.

The center was selected by the Huntsville Chapter of the Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI to receive the $5,000 award.

“J. Edgar Hoover, long-time Director of the FBI, believed strongly in law enforcement
education and worked throughout his career to promote such,” said Dennis Lormelthe, president of the Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI. “It is in his honor that this scholarship is named.”

The scholarship was presented to eight UAH students and CCRE employees to support
certification training, testing voucher and training books. They are Tiffany Dinh, Isabelle Brown, Timothy McCorry, Aislinn Hamill, Vincent Dinh, Brianna Hawkins, Anthony McGee, and Sydney Powell.

The Society of Former Special Agents of the FBI is a private 501(c)(7) nonprofit formed in
1937 as a fraternal, educational and community-minded organization composed of former
FBI Special Agents. The organization boasts nearly 8,500 men and women members,
organized in eight regions, with 120 chapters, offering a variety of services and benefits to
its members.

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe to our email newsletter to have all our smart stories delivered to your inbox.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular