76.6 F
75.5 F
Muscle Shoals
74.3 F
75.8 F
Fort Payne

Alabama House appoints North Alabama members to committees

MONTGOMERY — Speaker of the House Nathaniel Ledbetter (R – Rainsville) announced member assignments for the 25 House standing committees today. Many of them are representatives from North Alabama.

“Our members in both parties have specific skills, talents, and experiences that provide each of them with unique perspectives on the bills that come before their committees,” said Ledbetter. “We worked hard to match those skills and talents with the correct committee assignments.

“I’m confident that the members of our committees and the legislators that chair them will be prepared to go to work when the Legislature convenes for the 2023 regular session on March 7.”

North Alabama Representatives will sit on the following House standing committees:

Rules committee
Representatives Anthony Daniels of Huntsville, Scott Stadthagen of Hartselle, and Wes Kitchens of Arab

Ways & Means Education Trust Fund committee
Vice chair, Rep. Jamie Kiel of Russellville

Representatives Terri Collins of Decatur, Anthony Daniels, and Brock Colvin of Albertville

Ways & Means General Fund committee
Chair, Rep. Rex Reynolds of Hazel Green. Rep. Laura Hall of Huntsville is the Ranking Minority member

Representatives Andy Whitt of Ardmore, Wes Kitchens of Arab and A.J. McCampbell of Demopolis

Judiciary committee
Rep. Phillip Pettus of Killen

Health committee
Rep. Laura Hall is Ranking Minority member

Representatives Wes Kitchens, David Cole of Huntsville, and Phillip Rigsby also of Huntsville

State Government committee
Representatives Mike Kirkland of Scottsboro, Ernie Yarbrough of Trinity, Jamie Kiel of Russellville, Scott Stadthagen, and David Cole

Agriculture & Forestry committee
Chair, Rep. Danny Crawford of Athens

Transportation, Utilities, & Infrastructure committee
Representatives Danny Crawford, Mike Kirkland, Wes Kitchens, and Parker Moore of Hartselle

Public Safety & Homeland Security committee
Representatives Phillip Pettus of Killen and Corey Harbison of Hanceville.

Education Policy committee
Chair, Rep. Terri Collins of Decatur

Rep. Anthony Daniels sits on the committee.

Ports, Waterways, & Intermodal Transit committee
Representatives Mike Kirkland, James Lomax of Huntsville, Terri Collins, and Jamie Kiel

Financial Services committee
Vice chair, Rep. Andy Whitt of Ardmore

Military & Veterans Affairs committee
Representatives Ben Harrison of Elkmont and Phillip Pettus

Ethics & Campaign Finance committee
Representatives James Lomax, Ritchie Whorton of Owens Cross Roads and Corey Harbison

Commerce & Small Business committee
Representatives Phillip Rigsby of Huntsville, Brock Colvin, and Ritchie Whorton

Constitution, Campaigns, & Elections committee
Representatives James Lomax and Ben Harrison

County & Municipal Government committee
Representatives Danny Crawford and Ben Harrison

Boards, Agencies, & Commissions committee
Parker Moore of Hartselle

Fiscal Responsibility committee
Chair, Rep. Phillip Pettus; vice chair, Rep. Parker Moore

Representatives Scott Stadthagen, David Cole and Ben Harrison

Economic Development & Tourism committee
Chair, Rep. Andy Whitt of Ardmore.

Rep. Corey Harbison is on the committee.

Urban & Rural Development committee
Vice chair, Rep. Ritchie Whorton

Insurance committee
Representatives Jamie Kiel and Brock Colvin

Children & Senior Advocacy committee
Rep. Ernie Yarbrough of Trinity

Local Legislation committee
Vice chair, Rep. Ritchie Whorton

Don’t miss out!  Subscribe to our email newsletter to have all our smart stories delivered to your inbox.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular